Spain become first time World Cup winners

Spain became the 2010 World Cup champions after defeating the Netherlands 1-0 in the final game at Soccer City on Sunday.

The hero was Andres Iniesta who beat the Dutch goalie in the 116th minute of the game. He was left uncovered and made a perfect strike to put the game away for the Spaniards who won their first World Cup.

Spain has now entered the realm of soccer greats becoming only the eighth team in World Cup history to win it.

As expected, Spain was excellent in ball possession making the Oranje work to get the ball. Goalie Maarten Stekelenburg had to be sharp as it only took the Spanish five minutes to create their first chance.

Sergio Ramos created the opportunity off a set piece from Xavi. Ramos headed the ball but Stekelenburg was in the right spot to keep it at zeros. David Villa also had a chance but the shot landed at the side of the net.

The game turned into a foul affair as 14 yellow cards were given. The goal came as the Netherlands were down a man after John Heitinga received a red card for taking down Iniesta.

An ugly show of soccer came when Nigel de Jong of the Netherlands high booted Xabi Alonso in the chest in the first half.

De Jong was lucky to escape with just a yellow as it could have easily been an automatic sent off.

But the Dutch also looked dangerous too. Arjen Robben could have easily ended the dreams of Spain. The Bayern Munich player had two break aways exposing the Spanish defence. Goalie Iker Casillas came off his line to make daring saves.

The Oranje tried to take advantage on set pieces. Robben took a short corner sending the ball to Mark Van Bommel who crossed it to an open Joris Mathijsen. But he couldn’t get his foot on the ball, kicking the air instead.

The first 90 minutes solved nothing and into extra time, Spain found an early chance. Cesc Fabregas had his own breakaway but Stekelenburg managed to stick his right foot out making a spectacular save.

And then Iniesta happened. With four minutes left in the game before going to penalties,  he received the cross that sent Spanish fans around the world jumping for joy. Stekelenburg touched the ball with his finger tips, but it wasn’t enough.

It took the Dutch over 20 years to make it to the finals and going into the game, they were unbeaten.

As for La Furia Roja they are now multiple champions as they are the 2008 Euro Champs and now will have four years to bask in World Cup glory.

About this article

By: Rosa Garcia
Posted: Jul 12 2010 9:14 pm
Filed under: 2010 World Cup