Party leaders hang on to their seats

The leaders of all three of Ontario’s main parties successfully held their seats in the October 6 provincial election.

Premier Dalton McGuinty appeared headed to an easy victory in his Ottawa-South seat, taking 48.8 per cent of votes, with just 68 of 231 polls reporting.

Progressive Conservative leader Tim Hudak has been re-elected in his Niagara West – Glanbrook riding. Hudak became PC leader in June 2009 after John Tory exited provincial politics. Hudak was first elected to office as an MPP in 1995 for the now dissolved Niagara South riding.

In Hamilton Centre meanwhile, New Democratic Party leader and Andrea Horwath has been declared winner by CTV News.  Horwath was first elected to the Ontario Legislature in 2004 and was elected leader of the NDP upon Howard Hampton’s retirement in March 2009.

About this article

By: Mike Beauvais
Posted: Oct 6 2011 9:27 pm
Filed under: News Ontario Votes 2011