$100K Giller prize to be awarded tonight

Six writers up for award celebrating best of Canadian fiction

Giller prize
Novelist Madeleine Thien is up for this years Scotiabank Giller prize.  Photo courtesy Humanitas

On Monday the Scotiabank Giller jury will award $100,000 to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.

Praised novelist Madeleine Thien is up for the award for Do Not Say We Have Nothing. The Vancouver-born and Montreal-based author is one of the six finalists for the fiction prize.

Thien’s novel follows the story of a young Chinese refugee after China’s cultural revolution.

For her novel, Thien received the 2016 Governor General’s Literary Award and a nomination for the Man Booker Prize.

Other Giller prize finalists include Ontario-based Emma Donoghue for The Wonder, Montrealer author Mona Awad for 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, Hamilton-based Gary Barwin for Yiddish for Pirates, Zoe Whittall for The Best Kind of People, and Montreal’s Catherine Leroux for The Party Wall, translated by Lazer Lederhendler.

The winner will be selected by the jury of Lawrence Hill, Kathleen Winter, Jeet Heer, Alan Warner and Samantha Harvey.

The prize is one of Canada’s most prestigious and lucrative literary awards. $10,000 will be awarded to each of the finalists.

About this article

Posted: Nov 7 2016 12:56 pm
Filed under: News