MacLaren takes Carleton-Mississippi Mills for Tories

Progressive Conservative candidate Jack MacLaren has been declared winner in the Ottawa-area riding of Carleton-Mississippi Mills, defeating the Liberals’ Megan Cornwell.

The riding has been a Tory stronghold since 1999, but incumbent Norm Sterling did not run for re-election after MacLaren defeated him for the riding’s PC nomination.

Sterling had supported Tim Hudak’s campaign for leadership of the party in 2009, an unpopular choice with the riding association, that backed Randy Hillier.

About this article

By: Mike Beauvais
Posted: Oct 6 2011 9:55 pm
Filed under: News Ontario Votes 2011