PODCAST: FIFA Club World Cup next in line for Canadian soccer star Alphonso Davies

20-year-old left-back can become first Canadian to win the prestigious tournament next week

FIFA's Club World Cup trophy
FC Bayern has a chance to win its sixth trophy in a matter of months. COURTESY OF FIFA

Alphonso Davies’ next mission is clear.

At only 20 years old, he can add the 2020 FIFA Club World Cup to his giant list of accomplishments on Feb. 11, becoming the first Canadian international to do so.

The strong start would serve as a way to continue his tremendous 2020 into the next calendar year.

His last year of milestones include, but are not limited to, becoming the first North American named to the FIFA Best Men’s World XI and being named co-winner of the Lou Marsh Trophy awarded annually to the top Canadian athlete.

The competition, held in Qatar since 2019, means a lot to his club as well.

Germany’s FC Bayern can become just the second club in history to win all six trophies available in a calendar year.

Barcelona won the league, cup and super cup in Spain, the Champions League and super cup in Europe, and the FIFA Club World Cup in 2009.

Davies’ club is looking to add the final piece to the sextuple, and even though the pandemic moved the tournament from 2020 to 2021, it’s still as special as ever.

The competition has been held in Qatar since 2019

“It’s a special title that you can only win if you’ve already won the Champions League,” added FC Bayern captain Manuel Neuer, who won the FIFA Club World Cup in 2013. “We’ll do everything we can to triumph again.”

“We qualified for the Club World Cup as Champions League winners and will give everything to win the tournament,” said FC Bayern’s CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge in a press release. “The team wants to keep making history.”

The Toronto Observer has released a podcast ahead of the competition, featuring reporters Brady Reid, Daniel Rainbird and Yuri Coghe.

They discuss the tournament’s history, FC Bayern’s opposition and what would it mean for Canadian soccer if Davies added the trophy to his list of honours. Listen to it below.

What teams get to play in the FIFA Club World Cup?

Soccer clubs who win their continent’s biggest trophy get the chance to play in the tournament.

For this edition, 2019–20 UEFA Champions League winners FC Bayern, and 2020 Copa Libertadores winners Palmeiras will represent Europe and South America.

Mexican side Tigres, who beat MLS club LAFC in the 2020 CONCACAF Champions League final, also qualified. Ulsan Hyundai from South Korea and Al Ahly from Egypt are the champions of Asia and Africa.

Al-Duhail, winners of the 2019–20 Qatar Stars League, will serve as the host country representative.

The Oceania Football Confederation nominated New Zealand’s Auckland City to take part in the tournament since the 2020 OFC Champions League was cancelled due to the pandemic. However, they withdrew from participating.

When are the games?

Europe and South America have a secured place in the semifinals. FC Bayern will face Al-Duhail or Al Ahly, while Palmeiras plays the winner of Ulsan Hyundai versus Tigres.

The full FIFA Club World Cup bracket is below.

About this article

Posted: Feb 3 2021 10:22 pm
Filed under: News Sports